Latest press releases

Redazione ufficio stampa

Read the latest press releases and search the archives of TIM Group's Press Office. Read more

Pappano is back ontheWeb

PappanoinWeb is back in a venture promoted by the Accademia Nazionale of Santa Cecilia and Telecom Italia. Eight events are scheduled, along with a major new feature: listening guides to ensure that viewers are well-prepared for the music they’ll be listening to.
The first event, scheduled for 12 January, is a guide to Mozart’s Requiem, performed by the Santa Cecilia Orchestra and Choir conducted by Antonio Pappano.

01/11/2012 - 12:30 PM

Following on from the success of last year, PappanoinWeb – promoted by the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and Telecom Italia – is returning to the internet in an eight-part series.
This edition’s exclusive new feature are the four listening guides that ensure viewers have all the preparatory information they require for the four concerts streamed live and available on demand until 31 December 2012.
Antonio Pappano himself is presenting one of these guides. On Tuesday 24 January he’ll be talking about Schubert’s Winterreise, offering his own impressions and getting listeners ready for the 24 February concert featuring top tenor Jan Bostridge, who will be performing Schubert’s masterpiece. Musicologist Giovanni Bietti presents the other three guides.

PappanoinWeb is a further, important way to listen to music offered by Santa Cecilia and Telecom Italia. The goal of the project is to broaden the audience for music by breaking down time- and location-related barriers, and to bring together divergent groups of people by encouraging classical music lovers to engage with leading-edge technologies while introducing technology buffs to the incredible musical treasures of centuries gone by.

In 2011, PappanoinWeb registered 350,000 visitors, over 3.5 million contacts and an average contact time of around 37 minutes, proving itself to be an innovative project capable of catering to the needs of a particularly broad audience.
Thanks to this groundbreaking approach, viewers around the world enjoy great music free of charge from their own computer or any other online device, and can share their impressions and emotions live with other music lovers via a chat facility available during the live broadcasts.

At 9 p.m. on Thursday 12 January at the Spazio Risonanze of the Auditorium Parco della Musica in Rome, musicologist Giovanni Bietti presents the first lecture/Q&A prior to the Monday 16 January (Sala Santa Cecilia at 9 p.m.) concert by the Santa Cecilia Orchestra and Choir, conducted by Antonio Pappano. The busy programme opens with Rossini’s Symphony from The Silken Ladder, followed by Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante, and concludes with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s magnificent Requiem.

PappanoinWeb continues on:

Wednesday 18 January 9 p.m.
Giovanni Bietti’s listening guide to the Monday 23 January concert

Monday 23 January 9 p.m.
Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia
Antonio Pappano Conductor
Mario Brunello Cello
Dvořak’s Cello Concerto
Elgar’s Symphony no. 1

Tuesday 24 January 3 p.m.
Antonio Pappano’s listening guide to the Friday 24 February concert

Friday 24 February 8:30 p.m.
Ian Bostridge Tenor
Julius Drake Piano
Schubert’s Winterreise

Thursday 1 March 9 p.m.
Giovanni Bietti’s listening guide to the Monday 5 March concert

Monday 5 March 9 p.m.
Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia
Antonio Pappano Conductor
Janine Jansen Violin
Brahms’ Violin Concerto
Prokofiev’s Symphony no. 5

Rome, 11 January 2012



download pdf

Press Release (203 Kb)

207 KB